Post Type Selectors
product
carving_patterns
Search in posts
aiovg_videos
Search in pages

My introduction

Home Forums Introduce yourself! My introduction

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    svensk_jim
    Participant

I retired about 8 years ago, I was not planning on it but a financial incentive came up and all at once I was retired! I am captivated by the idea of making something.  My problem is I am easily captivated. so my interests seem to exceed the hours that I have available.  I first had chip carving explained to me three years ago, I tried it some, but did not pursue it.  This happened two more times when I took a carving class.  These classes have generally been focused on Scandinavian folk art, wood craft, or sloyd.  I studied modern art and architecture.  I never expected to be studying chip carving, or any other folk art.

I have been looking for a “lazy susan” for a couple of months.

A question about basswood.  I was told by a local carver that I should only use basswood from WI and MN, not to use southern basswood. Any truth to that?

And the same carver is always spraying a fine mist of water on the the surface of his figure carving.  I have heard some mix water and alcohol.  Any value in that?

So, I will try to keep an eye on this community, but will have more questions than contributions.

jim

Serge Parent
    Participant

Hi Good news that you have retired. Lots of time to carve coming up.

I found a “lazy susan” at kitchen store. Usually around 10-15$. Check if it turn easily when you buy it.

Re basswood.  Yes the northern basswood is easier to carve du to it grows.

Re spraying. Yes this is a good solution, half water and half alcohol,  when you feel your wood is very dry.

Keep carving makes you a better carver.

Serge P.

Frederick
    Participant