Post Type Selectors
product
carving_patterns
Search in posts
aiovg_videos
Search in pages

Don – Inman Guitars

Home Forums Introduce yourself! Don – Inman Guitars

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    inmanguitars
    Participant

Hi, Marty!

I got your email. welcoming me to the Platinum community. Yeah, I have been building and repairing guitars since 1991. I’ve been woodworking since the mid 70’s. I recently retired from both guitar repair and my main job as a letter carrier with USPS, so I’m starting in on all those projects that have been put off, some for many years. Over the past three years I’ve shifted gears, setting the guitar work aside and delving more heavily into carving and sculpture. I’m working mostly with woods which are available to me locally- for free. That’s limited mostly to manzanita burl, piñon pine, juniper, eucalyptus and canyon live oak-all VERY dry, hard woods, requiring mostly power tools. Not my favorite way to work, but I occasionally am able to find somebody cutting down a tree in their yard, which gives me green wood to work with, so out comes my axe, adze and carving tools.
    So now, I’m mostly making bowls, spoons and bowl based sculpture, some power carved, some non-power carved. That’s where chip carving comes in. My greenwood carving is mostly influenced by David Fisher, who uses chip carving(with a pocket knife!) to carve and letter the top of his bowls. (His work is absolutely beautiful. If you aren’t familiar with him, you can can check him out at www.davidffisher.com).

Your videos are very helpful. I really appreciate the effort you’ve put in to the them. I’m dyslexic and have a hard time learning from books-it takes a lot of time and effort!